This page has moved and will be redirected soon. See Migrated topics for the complete list.
Adobe Commerce only. Learn more.

Manage company users

A company user is a customer (buyer) that is assigned extended attributes that identify the company the user belongs to. Use the POST /V1/customers call, which is included with Magento Open Source and Adobe Commerce, to create the user. After the user is created, you can use the PUT /V1/customers/:customer_id call to set their company data with the company_attributes extended attributes.

This topic discusses only the features of the customerCustomerRepositoryV1 service that are specific to B2B. See Create a customer for an example of creating a standard customer.

Manage company users

This section describes the REST endpoints used to manage company users.

Service Name:

customerCustomerRepositoryV1

REST Endpoints:

1
2
POST /V1/customers/
PUT /V1/customers/:customerId

Company user parameters:

The following table lists the parameters that can be used to set company data for a user.

Name Description Format Requirements
customer_id System-generated customer ID. integer Not applicable for create operations.
company_id System-generated company ID. integer Required to create or update a company user.
job_title A string that describes the company user’s responsibilities. string Required to create or update a company.
status Indicates whether the company user is active or inactive integer 0 - inactive; 1 - active
telephone Telephone number string Required to create a company user.

Create a company user

The POST /V1/customers call creates a Magento customer. B2B extends the customerAccountManagementV1 service so that you can create a company user.

Sample Usage:

POST <host>/rest/<store_code>/V1/customers

Payload:

First, create the standard customer. Their company_id will initially be set to 0.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
{
  "customer": {
    "email": "mshaw@example.com",
    "firstname": "Melanie",
    "lastname": "Shaw"
  }
}

Response:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
{
  "id": 13,
  "group_id": 1,
  "created_at": "2017-05-18 16:47:44",
  "updated_at": "2017-05-18 16:47:44",
  "created_in": "Default Store View",
  "email": "mshaw@example.com",
  "firstname": "Melanie",
  "lastname": "Shaw",
  "store_id": 1,
  "website_id": 1,
  "addresses": [],
  "disable_auto_group_change": 0,
  "extension_attributes": {
    "company_attributes": {
      "customer_id": 13,
      "company_id": 0
    }
  }
}

If you create a user from the admin dashboard, you can also set their company data at the same time.

Modify a company user

The following example assigns the user to a company, sets their status to inactive and also sets their job_title and telephone.

If you change the status to inactive, the account is locked. If the company user has child users, the system re-assigns the child users to the parent of the deactivated user.

Sample Usage:

PUT <host>/rest/<store_code>/V1/customers/13

Payload:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
{
  "customer": {
    "id": 13,
    "email": "mshaw@example.com",
    "firstname": "Melanie",
    "lastname": "Shaw",
    "website_id": 1,
    "extension_attributes": {
      "company_attributes": {
        "company_id": 2,
        "status": 0,
        "job_title": "Sales Rep",
        "telephone": "512-555-3322"
        }
      }
  }
}

Response:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
{
  "id": 13,
  "group_id": 1,
  "created_at": "2017-05-18 16:47:44",
  "updated_at": "2017-05-18 18:50:58",
  "created_in": "Default Store View",
  "email": "mshaw@example.com",
  "firstname": "Melanie",
  "lastname": "Shaw",
  "store_id": 1,
  "website_id": 1,
  "addresses": [],
  "disable_auto_group_change": 0,
  "extension_attributes": {
    "company_attributes": {
      "customer_id": 13,
      "company_id": 2,
      "status": 0,
      "job_title": "Sales Rep",
      "telephone": "512-555-3322"
    },
    "is_subscribed": false
  }
}

Delete a company user

If the specified company user has child users, the system re-assigns the child users to the parent of the deleted user. The user account is deleted from Magento with all of its content, except quotes and orders. The user’s orders and quotes remain visible to the seller.

Magento locks the deleted user’s quotes and changes their status to Closed. The system does not allow to make changes on such quotes.

Sample Usage:

DELETE <host>/rest/<store_code>/V1/customers/13

Payload:

Not applicable

Response:

true, indicating the request was successful